AACOM Governance Changes

As of July 1, a new slate of officers assumes AACOM’s Board of Dean governance positions for the 2016-17 term. Our leadership updates include the implementation of AACOM governance reorganization changes implemented by the BOD after an extensive review. This includes enlargement of the Executive Committee (EC) and designates representation by a branch campus or additional location representative.

Chair Thomas Cavalieri, DO Dean, Rowan School of Osteopathic Medicine
 Vice Chair William Strampel, DO Dean, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine
 Secretary/Treasurer Lori Kemper, DO Dean, Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
 Immediate Past Chair Michael Clearfield, DO Dean, Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine--California;
 Assembly of Presidents Chair Kenneth Johnson, DO Executive Dean, Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
 At-Large Member
(Branch or Affiliate Representative)
 H. William Craver, DO Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Georgia Campus-Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
 At-Large Member Robert Goldberg, DO Dean, Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine—New York
 At-Large Member Kayse Shrum, DO President, Provost and Dean, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
 At-Large Member Margaret Wilson, DO Dean, A.T. Still University - Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine
 Ex Officio Member Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH President and CEO, AACOM

UNE Names Carreiro New Dean of its College of Osteopathic Medicine

The University of New England (UNE) recently announced the appointment of Jane E. Carreiro, DO, as Dean of the UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM), effective November 1, 2016. Dr. Carreiro will replace outgoing Dean Douglas L. Wood, DO, PhD, who will be continuing at UNE in an advisory capacity while Dr. Carreiro transitions into the leadership position.

“Jane Carreiro has been a national and international leader in osteopathic medicine for many years,” said UNE President Danielle N. Ripich, PhD. A UNE faculty member since 1993, “She is a specialist in pain management in the pediatric population and has a strong foundation in primary care. Her knowledge of osteopathic medical education and dedication to students is well recognized. She knows Maine and is networked throughout the state. She will lead the college from a firm grounding in physician education.” Read the full release.

UP-KYCOM Appoints Acting Dean

Effective as of Saturday, July 23, William T. Betz, DO, was appointed Acting Dean of the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (UP-KYCOM) after the installation of Boyd R. Buser, DO, as AOA President. As such, Dr. Betz now serves as the designated voting representative for KYCOM on the AACOM Board of Deans. Dr. Betz will remain in this position during Dr. Buser’s tenure as AOA president, through July 2017.

AACOM Names Pamela Murphy Senior Vice President of Government Relations

June 22, 2016


Liane Weissenberger
Advocacy and Public Affairs Manager

(Washington, DC) - The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) announces the promotion of Pamela Murphy, MSW, to the position of Senior Vice President of Government Relations, effective July 1, 2016. In this role, Ms. Murphy will be responsible for the full integration of the overall legislative and public affairs strategy across the Association. Ms. Murphy will report to AACOM President and CEO, Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH.

“Pamela has a proven track record for successfully leading strategic legislative and public affairs initiatives that help to shape the policy environment around AACOM’s priority issues. In this new role, Pamela’s leadership and expertise will strengthen AACOM’s position as a national player in federal policy,” said AACOM President and CEO, Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH.

Ms. Murphy brings more than 15 years of government relations experience to this role, including 6 years as AACOM’s Vice President of Government Relations where she was responsible for advocating for federal policies that impact AACOM membership and building a cohesive national voice around osteopathic medical education policy.

“AACOM has laid a strong advocacy foundation to raise the profile of critical legislative issues on the national stage,” said Ms. Murphy. “As I enter into this new phase at the Association, I look forward to building upon this legacy and continuing to elevate the voice of the osteopathic medical education community.”

Prior to joining AACOM, Ms. Murphy served as the Government Affairs and Public Affairs Specialist for the National Network to End Domestic Violence and the Allstate Foundation partnership, where she spearheaded a public awareness campaign on the economics of domestic violence working with Members of Congress and federal officials, as well as providing outreach to media. Previously, she worked as a Senior Policy Advisor to a Member of the U.S. House of Representatives, where she managed the Member’s health care agenda and appropriations process.

Ms. Murphy obtained her MSW from the University of Pennsylvania.


The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) represents the 33 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine in the United States. These colleges are accredited to deliver instruction at 48 teaching locations in 31 states. In the 2015-16 academic year these colleges are educating over 26,100 future physicians—more than 20 percent of all U.S. medical students. Six of the colleges are public and 27 are private institutions.

AACOM was founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and to serve as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education. AACOMprovides leadership for the osteopathic medical education community by promoting excellence in medical education, research and service, and by fostering innovation and quality across the continuum of osteopathic medical education to improve the health of the American public.


Inside OME Header
July/August 2016
Vol. 10, No. 6