AACOM President and CEO Honored with 2016 Phillips Medal of Public Service


n behalf of the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM), AACOM President and CEO Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, is the 2016 recipient of the Phillips Medal of Public Service.

The medal, named in honor of J. Wallace and Joan Galbreath Phillips, is awarded annually to individuals who have made significant contributions to the improvement of health care in the United States. Dr. Shannon will be presented with the medal during OU-HCOM’s 41st Convocation and White Coat Ceremony on July 23, during which he will also address the medical school’s entering class.

In its invitation, OU-HCOM recognizes Dr. Shannon as an osteopathic physician and longtime leader in medicine and public service who provides a valuable perspective for the Class of 2020 during a time of historic change and opportunity in the osteopathic medical profession.

Inside OME Header
June 2016
Vol. 10, No. 5