COSGP Announces 2016 National Awardees

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) has recently announced the winners of it's three annual awards, the National Student DO of the Year (SDOY), the National Student Researcher of the Year (SROY), and the Outstanding Advancement in Osteopathic Medical Education Award.

Lemaire-border_SDOYThe National SDOY Award is presented each year to one osteopathic medical student who demonstrates superior leadership capabilities, robust research experience, a strong commitment to community service, and an embodiment of the osteopathic philosophy. This year’s National SDOY is Timothy Micah Lemaire, osteopathic medical student at the A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA). Mr. Lemaire has displayed true dedication to service and strong leadership in OME as the 2016 Student Body President, among the many other roles he has held throughout his educational career.

Perkins-border_SROYThe National Student Researcher of the Year (SROY) Award recognizes an osteopathic medical student researcher with highly-competitive experiences in clinical, translational, or basic science research, and who has been influential in advancing osteopathic medicine. The 2016 National SROY is Jonathan N. Perkins, 2LT, U.S. Army, osteopathic medical student at the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine at Midwestern University (AZCOM/MWU). Second Leuitentant Perkins has given numerous presentations on his extensive research on otolaryngology, and his work has been published in several scientific journals.

MSUCOM567a-borderThe Outstanding Advancement in Osteopathic Medical Education Award was developed last year by the COSGP, allowing students to recognize their osteopathic medical schools for making a robust and durable change within their curriculum or for having instituted a novel and successful program. The 2016 Outstanding Achievement in Osteopathic Medical Education Award winner is Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine for its Student Mental Health Committee (SMHC), developed by Celia Guro, PhD and Alyse Ley, DO. The program was created to increase awareness of and address the stigma surrounding mental health. The goal of the program is to develop a safe and supportive community for medical students and faculty by providing them with appropriate resources and education to contribute to improved mental self-care.

Inside OME Header
March 2016
Vol. 10, No. 3