Leadership Updates

ARCOM Appoints Interim Dean

Ray E. Stowers, DO, was recently appointed Provost of the Arkansas Colleges of Health Education (ACHE) and Interim Dean of the Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine (ARCOM).

Prior to joining ACHE, Dr. Stowers was the Founding Dean of Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) in Harrogate, TN, from which he stepped down in January 2015.

A longstanding member of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), Dr. Stowers has served on the Board of Trustees since 2000 and is a past president of the AOA. On a national level, Dr. Stowers has advised Congress on health care issues through his appointments to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) and the Physician Payment Review Commission (PPRC). Read more.

DMU-COM Names New Dean

dmu-com dean christiansen2Gregory Christiansen, DO, MEd, Chair and Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine (CUSOM), has been named Dean of the Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DMU-COM), effective December 1, 2016.

Dr. Christiansen has served in many roles during his tenure at CUSOM, including Director of the Simulation Lab and Medical Director of the Physician Assistant Program, as well as a member of the Emergency Room staff at Harnett Health.

“Dr. Christiansen has served CUSOM and the patients in Harnett County with passion and empathy,” said John M. Kauffman Jr., DO, CUSOM Dean. “We are thankful for the work he has done at CUSOM and wish him continued success as he serves DMU-COM as dean.”

Dr. Christiansen is a member of the Board of Directors and past president of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP). As Medical Commander of the Virginia-1 Disaster Medical Assistance Team, Dr. Christiansen has also been deployed to assist during disasters including Hurricane Katrina. Read more

Ken Veit, DOHHS Secretary Appoints Kenneth J. Veit, DO, to the Council on Graduate Medical Education

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell appointed Kenneth Veit, DO, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) in Philadelphia, PA, to serve on the HHS Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA) Council on Graduate Medical Education (COGME).

Dr. Veit was jointly nominated by AACOM, the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), and the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) for his vast expertise on a range of policy issues related to osteopathic medical education, the physician workforce, and health care delivery. Read the full press release.

UNECOM Dean Takes Helm

On November 1, 2016, Jane E. Carreiro, DO, began her leadership as Dean of the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM). Dr. Carreiro replaces outgoing Dean Douglas L. Wood, DO, PhD, who spent a decade as President of AACOM and launched the A.T. Still University-School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona (ATSU-SOMA), among other professional achievements.

“Jane Carreiro has been a national and international leader in osteopathic medicine for many years,” said UNE President Danielle N. Ripich, PhD. A UNE faculty member since 1993, “Her knowledge of osteopathic medical education and dedication to students is well recognized. She knows Maine and is networked throughout the state. She will lead the college from a firm grounding in physician education.” Read more.

Dean_Cavalieri-editedVA Secretary Appoints Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO, to Advisory Committee on Academic Affiliations

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Secretary Robert A. McDonald has appointed Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO, Dean and Professor of Medicine at the Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM) in Stratford, NJ, to serve on the VA National Academic Affiliations Council (NAAC). Read the full press release