Awards and Leadership

Leadership Updates

092117_David_Forstein_TouroCOMDavid Forstein, DO, was appointed as the third dean of the Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine (TouroCOM), Alan Kadish, MD, president of the Touro College and University System (TCUS) announced today.

Dr. Forstein graduated from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) and has held clinical faculty appointments at PCOM, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), and Rowan School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM). He is the Vice Chair of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA)’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) and serves on the Board of Trustees for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). He is a former President of the American College of Osteopathic Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOOG) and former Chairman of the Medical Education Foundation of the ACOOG.

“I welcome the opportunity to build on the successes already achieved. I plan to initiate educational opportunities that support the college’s mission of serving the underserved and increasing the number of under-represented minorities in medicine. My goal is to grow the existing innovative and engaging educational programs and help osteopathic medical students successfully compete for the residencies of their choice and ultimately, achieve meaningful careers,” said Dr. Forstein.

“TouroCOM is fortunate to have Dr. Forstein take the helm,” said Dr. Kadish. “I know he will implement many exciting educational programs and continue the tradition of community service that is the backbone of our training and clinical experience at TCUS. As the leading provider of healthcare education in the U.S. whose medical schools number five in locations across the country, TCUS graduates the largest number of DOs nationwide every year.”

Read more about Dr. Forstein and his accomplishments.