The Bigger Picture

AOF Announces Golden Ticket Scholarship Winners

101917_Golden_Ticket_Award_OMEDVanessa Halvorsen, a fourth-year medical student at Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine (TUNCOM), won the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF)’s $25,000 Golden Ticket Scholarship for leadership and academic success. A new program recognizing exceptional osteopathic medical students who carry the financial burden of student loans, the Golden Ticket Scholarship recognizes those who surpass their peers in academics, leadership, commitment to the osteopathic profession and philosophy, and significant participation in community outreach.

Vanessa was also elected as the student representative to the AOA’s Board of Trustees on AACOM’s Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) Executive Board earlier this year.

The four runner-ups won a $5,000 scholarship:

  • Daniel Sullivan, third-year osteopathic medical student at KYCOM
  • Eric Goldwaser, fourth-year osteopathic medical student at RowanSOM
  • Ryan Paulus, fourth-year osteopathic medical student at OU-HCOM
  • Kortnee M. Koziara, fourth-year osteopathic medical student at VCOM-VC