The Bigger Picture

NYITCOM to Offer Combined DO/PhD Program in Medical and Biological Sciences

Beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) will start its first DO/PhD program in medical and biological sciences. According to the college, doctoral candidates will pursue a combined Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree and Doctor of Philosophy degree under the seven-year program.

This new degree program will ensure a steady supply of highly-skilled research physicians who will ensure that medicine continually evolves to solve our most pressing challenges,” said Jerry Balentine, DO, Dean of NYITCOM and Vice President for Health Sciences and Medical Affairs.

With this new program, the school aims to generate osteopathic physician scientists who will drive the practice of medicine into the future with their research. During the first two years of the program, students will complete traditional pre-clinical coursework taken by first- and second-year medical students. In years three through five, after candidacy has been awarded, students will undertake PhD-level coursework in biomedical and anatomical systems that supplement their medical school curriculum.

Students will also choose to carry out a research project under the mentorship of NYITCOM faculty, leading to a doctoral thesis. Upon completion of the program’s PhD requirements, candidates will then fulfill the clinical training hours required of third- and fourth-year NYITCOM students.

Currently, six other colleges of osteopathic medicine offer combined DO/PhD programs: Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (MSUCOM), Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine (OSU-COM), Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM), Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM), Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RowanSOM), and the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth/Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSC-TCOM).