The Bigger Picture

In Memoriam: Frank Myers, DO, Former OU-HCOM Dean

Frank_Myers_OUHCOM_12132018Frank W. Myers, DO, who served as Dean of the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (OU-HCOM) from 1977 to 1993, passed away on Monday, November 19.

Dr. Myers was Trustee Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine at Ohio University and used his passion for medicine to help form OU-HCOM in 1976. During his 16-year tenure as Dean, he oversaw the development of OU-HCOM’s statewide network of teaching hospitals, which later became the Clinical Education Network. At the time, this was only the third such facility at a U.S. medical school.

Under Dr. Myers’ leadership, the college’s class size increased from 24 to 100 and he was instrumental in expanding the college’s faculty practice plan into a multi-specialty outpatient clinic, then known as the Ohio University Osteopathic Medical Center to provide additional care to the region.

“Dean Myers was an inspiring leader and a true pioneer in medical education,” said Jack Brose, DO, Dean Emeritus and Professor of Family Medicine, who served as Dean from 2001 to 2012. “Our College's focus on quality and innovation began under his leadership and persists today.  I will miss him as a mentor and friend.”

Before joining the medical college, Dr. Myers was an osteopathic physician in general practice in northern Ohio. He was also a co-recipient of the 1973 Ohio State Society of the American College of General Practitioners in Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery General Practitioner of the Year award.

By then, he had dedicated much of his career to enhancing osteopathic medical education through his active involvement with the American Osteopathic Association, the Ohio Osteopathic Association, the American College of General Practitioners in Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, and the Cleveland Academy of Osteopathic Medicine. He also worked to improve health care access in underserved areas and to encourage newly trained doctors of osteopathic medicine to practice in Ohio.

In 1993, Dr. Myers received the college’s Phillips Medal of Public Service, and in 2014 he was presented with a Trillium Award by Executive Dean Johnson, in recognition of his forward-thinking efforts in establishing the college as a leader in primary care medical education.