This Section:

News & Events

Single GME Accreditation Update

(9/29/14)  AACOM continues to engage deeply in the planning and operational processes of the transition to the single GME accreditation system. Over the past few months, AACOM and AOA worked collaboratively to identify and nominate DOs for selection to ACGME’s Osteopathic Principles Committee. The Osteopathic Principles Committee (OPC) will develop standards for recognition of programs with osteopathic dimensions and recommend these for approval to the ACGME board. Under the new single accreditation system, the OPC will also evaluate programs seeking osteopathic recognition. As provided for in the Memorandum of Understanding, the OPC will be comprised of 13 DO candidates nominated by AOA, and two candidates nominated by ACGME. Last week, the 13 DO candidates for the OPC were submitted to the ACGME board of directors:

Juan Acosta, DO
Emergency Medicine
Assistant Dean for Post-Doctoral Education
Regional Academic Officer OPTI-West, Associate Professor
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine

Natasha Bray, DO
Internal Medicine
VP/DIO at Broward Health

Robert Cain, DO
Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Ohio Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine

Jane Carreiro, DO
Family Practice, NMM
Chair Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine

Millicent King-Channell, DO
Family Medicine, NMM/OMM
Chair, OMM, NMI
Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine

Alissa Craft, DO
Pediatrics, Neonatal Perinatal Medicine
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine
New York  

John Dougherty, DO
Family Medicine
Senior Associate Dean
Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine

Robert Hasty, DO
Internal Medicine
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Affairs
Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine
North Carolina

Ken Heiles, DO
Family Medicine
Dean Designate
Arkansas Colleges of Health Education (ACHE) Fort Smith Osteopathic Medical School

Anthony Ottaviani, DO
Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine
Chair, American Osteopathic Foundation Board

George Pasquarello, DO
Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine, OMM, Pain Medicine
Clinical Specialist, Director of Corporation East Greenwich Spine & Sport, Inc.
Adjunct, University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine
Rhode Island 

Mike Rowane, DO
Family Medicine, Neuromuscular Medicine, OMM
Board member, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
Director of Medical Education, University Hospitals

Karen Snider, DO
Chair of OMM
ATSU—Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine