This Section:

Medical Education

National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME)

2019 NAOME Fellows
Pictured: NAOME Fellows, 2019.                 FIND NAOME FELLOWS

Educating Leaders 2022, April 27-29 - Save the Date

The 2022 NAOME Fellows Application Period
August 15, 2021 - January 8, 2022 

The National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) is a community of outstanding educators (termed Fellows) who have met rigorous standards of academic excellence within the last five years. The presentations below offer a quick overview of the Academy and steps to apply for a NAOME fellowship: 


The purpose of the Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators' National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators is to:

  • Foster and value the scholarship of teaching and learning.
  • Provide role modeling and support for educators in osteopathic medical education programs.
  • Foster networking and collaboration among institutions of osteopathic medical education by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas about educational endeavors including teaching, evaluation, curriculum design and implementation, faculty development and educational research.

Why Join NAOME?

Who Should Apply and How?


NAOME Fellows are expected to contribute to the work of the Academy in the following ways: 

  • Serve as a role model and mentor for others at all levels in the profession.
  • Mentor academy applicants in the development of their mini-portfolio.
  • Participate in annual Academy events such as the annual Academy meeting at Educating Leaders, the AACOM Annual Conference, and attend regularly scheduled fellow meetings (typically virtual meetings).
  • Mentor applicants for Educating Leaders abstracts or AACOM Research Grants.
  • Participate in the vetting of ideas/projects at the SOME steering committee's request.
  • Participate in the selection of SOME award recipients.
  • Act as a “think tank” on issues relevant to osteopathic medical education.  It is anticipated that programs may be developed and delivered at Educating Leaders, AACOM Annual Conferences, and at osteopathic medical education program sites.
  • Interact with other NAOME fellows to create and maintain a high-level, proactive, and effective educational resource for the osteopathic medical profession.

NAOME Structure and Activities

The National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) promotes and supports osteopathic medical education scholarship. Members of the Academy demonstrate their support by evaluating AACOM Educational Research Grants, providing peer review and award recommendations for the AACOM Educational Research Abstracts at the annual meeting, serving as mentors for peer and colleague osteopathic medical educators, and selecting new Fellows to the Academy.

The Academy is governed by elected officers that serve for two year terms.  The current officers are:

  • Chair: Luke Mortensen, PhD (ICOM)
  • Chair-elect: Rita Getz, PhD (ICOM)
  • Past-chair: Pamela Basehore, EdD, MPH (RowanSOM)
  • Secretary: Machelle Linsenmeyer, EdD  (WVSOM)

In order to maintain consistent, high quality support of osteopathic medical education scholarship; NAOME augments its governance with four subcommittees. Each of these subcommittees consists of leadership and membership from the Academy. The subcommittees aim to seek and provide feedback to Academy members as well as promote transparency of the Academy operations and outcomes to the osteopathic community. The subcommittees are:

  • AACOM Research Abstract & Poster Review Subcommittee
    This subcommittee is currently chaired by Matthew Henry, PhD, of DMU-COM and ensures fair and consistent evaluation of abstracts and posters for the annual AACOM conference through periodic review of the selection criteria and recruitment of abstract reviewers.
  • AACOM Research Grant Review Subcommittee
    This subcommittee is currently chaired by Leslie Wimsatt, PhD, of DMU-COM and ensures fair and consistent evaluation of AACOM Educational Grants through periodic review of the evaluation criteria and recruitment of study section members.
  • NAOME Fellow Mentoring Subcommittee
    This subcommittee is currently chaired by Sherry Jimenez, EdD, of LMU-DCOM. It is developing a formalized mentoring process for new and potential NAOME applicants.
  • NAOME Fellow Selection Process Subcommittee
    This subcommittee is currently chaired by Diane Karius, PhD, Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine and provides oversight of the annual Fellow selection process by monitoring and updating application materials, providing standard setting examples, and orchestrating the selection process.

NOTE: The Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators' working group that created the National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators (NAOME) is significantly indebted to educators at Baylor College of Medicine under the leadership of Nancy Searle, EdD, Director, Fulbright & Jaworski Faculty Excellence Award Program, for their development of a faculty academy model which reflects a grounding in the literature regarding educational scholarship and a rigor and transparency in their selection process.

For the first year of NAOME implementation and selection of members, Baylor's standards and processes were implemented.  The 2009 inaugural NAOME fellows have adapted these materials to more closely reflect the teaching/learning models in osteopathic medical education, including the integration of osteopathic principles and practices. The mini-portfolio models on this site reflect these adaptations.