The William D. Miller Leadership Award Recipients

The William D. Miller Award is presented each year on behalf of the AACOM Board of Deans. Recipients of this award are nominated and selected in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the osteopathic profession. 
The award is given in recognition of William D. Miller, DO, who graduated from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) in 1945. Dr. Miller was an associate dean for academic affairs at the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) and was chairman of the council of deans of AACOM. He had maintained a private practice in New York City and served as director of medical education of the Osteopathic Hospital and Clinic of New York. He was president of the New York Academy of Osteopathy and later president of the Foundation for Research of the Academy. He helped to found NYITCOM, and had served as assistant dean for clinical resources and associate dean for clinical education.

Van Hipp, Jr.
Peter (Pete) Wertheim, MS, DHL  (posthumously)
Jon Wills
Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP
Fitzhugh Mullan, MD
Not presented
John G. Rocovich, Jr.
Konrad C. Miskowicz-Retz, PhD, CAE
Henry B. Pace, PhD
2013  John B. Crosby, JD 
2011 Stephen R. Winn
Hershey S. Bell, MD, MS
2009  Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN
2006  Senator Charles Grassley 
2005  Richard Cooper, MD 
2004  Stuart D. Cook, MD 

David Satcher, MD, MPH
Frederick Lippman, BSc, RPh
2000  Governor Paul Patton 
1999  C. Everett Koop, MD 

Awards Banquet Program

Learn more about AACOM's awards recipients in the programs below: