2010 AACOM Research Grant Awardees

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) congratulates the following recipients of the 2010 AACOM Mini-Grant Awards in Osteopathic Medical Education:

  • Grace Brannan, PhD, CORE OPTI Research Director, Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Perception of Research by Medical Students, Interns, and Residents in Ohio”
  • Paul Evans, DO, Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Georgia Campus – Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Use of an Immersive Mixed Reality Human Breast Exam Simulator to Teach and Assess Communication and Breast Examination Skills in Osteopathic Medical Students”
  • Donald Sefcik, DO, MBA, Senior Associate Dean, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Enhancing Medical Student Learning through Reflective Thinking Using an Electronic Patient Encounter Logging System”
  • Karen Snider, DO, Associate Professor of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, A.T. Still University of Health Sciences – Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Frequency of Counterstrain Tender Points in Osteopathic Medical Students – An Osteopathic Educational Research Project”
  • John Rehmeyer, MA, A-OPTIC Executive Director, Pikeville College School of Osteopathic Medicine, “Evaluating Competency-Performing Competently”
  • William Cairney, PhD, OPTI-West Executive Director, Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific, “Identification of Distinctive Qualities and Characteristics of the Osteopathic Physician”
  • Jonathan Rohrer, PhD, Associate Director of the Statewide Campus System, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Assessment of the Current Understanding of OPP-OMT in Relation to Medical Educational Programs”
  • Eric Gish, DO, Chair for the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine, “Identifying Distinctive Features of Osteopathic Medical Education – OME Attitudes, Beliefs and Behaviors”

Mini-grant awardees will receive funding of up to $5,000 in support of their osteopathic medical education research topics. Grants are awarded to educators at colleges of osteopathic medicine for a period of 18 months and are non-renewable.