AOGME logo

This Section:


AOGME Awards

2021 AOGME Awards Call for Nominations Closed

The AOGME Awards are presented in several categories to honor individuals for their accomplishments and service to osteopathic medical education and osteopathic medicine as a whole.

2020 AOGME Awards

Winners for the 2020 AOGME Awards were announced at the virtual Educating Leaders 2020 conference. See the 2020 awardees below. 

Dr. William Cairney 22020 Special Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. William J. Cairney, PhD
Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Dr. Richard Terry

2020 Leadership Award

Dr. Richard R. Terry, DO, MBA
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine at Elmira

Maura Biszwski2020 Special Award of Appreciation

Ms. Maura Biszewski
Vice President, Graduate Medical Education
American Osteopathic Association

Alegneta Long2020 Special Award of Appreciation

Ms. Alegneta Long, MPP
Director of GME Initiatives and Executive Director of the
Assembly of Osteopathic Graduate Medical Educators (AOGME) 
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)

2019 AOGME Awards

Winners for the 2019 AOGME Awards were announced at Educating Leaders 2019. See the 2019 awardee below. 

    Special Lifetime Achievement Award

    Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH
    President and CEO
    American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine

2018 AOGME Awards

Winners for the 2018 AOGME Awards were announced at Educating Leaders 2018. See the 2018 awardees below. View the Awards Presentation slideshow for more information.

boyle-tom-february-20112018 AOGME Leadership Award

Thomas Boyle, DO, FACEP, FACOEP
Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education
Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University

picture22018 AOGME Leadership Award

Thomas Mohr, MS, DO, FACOI, FAODME
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

hardy22018 Special Award of Appreciation

Margaret J. Hardy, JD
Former Consultant to AODME

Award Recipients

Special Lifetime Achievement Award 

The AOGME (formerly AODME) Special Lifetime Achievement recognizes members who have been instrumental in advancing the mission and purposes of AOGME through loyal and long-term meritorious service.

  • 2020 - William J. Cairney, PhD
  • 2019 - Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH
  • 2017 - Abraham M. Jeger, PhD, FAODME
  • 2013 - Mark Cummings, PhD
  • 2012 - David Dora, DO
  • 2011 - Dennis Lemanski, DO, FAODME
  • 2009 - Gail Riegle, PhD
  • 2008 - William G. Anderson, DO
  • 2007 - Vance D. Powell, Jr., DO, FAODME, FACOOG
  • 2006 - Lauren Vogel, DO
  • 2005 - Michael Opipari, DO, FAODME, FACOI
  • 2003 - Anthony A. Minissale, DO, BS and Robert G. Ricci, DO, FAOCR
  • 2001 - Norville H. Schock, PhD, FAODME
  • 2000 - Robert J. George, DO, FAODME

Leadership Award 

The Leadership Award recognizes AOGME (formerly AODME) members who have contributed noteworthy service to the osteopathic profession and to AOGME in the past year.

  • 2020
    Richard R. Terry, DO, MBA
  • 2018
    Thomas Boyle, DO, FACEP, FACOEP
    Thomas Mohr, MS, DO, FACOI, FAODME
  • 2014
    Robert A. Cain, DO, FACOI
    Richard LaBaere, II, DO, MPH, FAODME
  • 2013
    John Bulger, DO, FACOI, FACP, FAODME
    J. Michael Finley, DO, FACOI, FACP, FACR
    Howard Shulman, DO, FACP, FACOI
  • 2010
    Susan C. Zonia, PhD, FAODME
  • 2009
    James Lally, DO, MS
    David Towle, DO, FAODME, MPH, MS
  • 2005
    Gary Moorman, DO, FAODME, FACOEP, FACEP
  • 2004
    Deborah Blackwell, DO, FACOP
  • 2003
    Gary Willyerd, DO, FAODME, FACOEP
  • 1999
    Norville Schock, PhD, FAODME
  • 1996
    Vance Powell, Jr., DO, FAODME

Award for Excellence in Osteopathic Education

This Award recognizes research and initiatives that excel in the continuum of education in the areas of pre-doctoral, post-doctoral, and continuing medical education.

  • 2011
    Michael Sheehy, DO, FACOEP
  • 2009
    Deborah R. Bennett, DO
  • 2001
    Kari Hortos, DO, FAODME (postdoctoral
    Johathan Rohrer, PhD (postdoctoral)
    Lisa Butler, BA, MSN (predoctoral)
  • 2000
    Joel Dickerman, DO (postdoctoral)
    Bruce Dubin, DO, JD (predoctoral)

Special Award of Appreciation

  • 2020
    Maura Biszewski
    Alegneta Long, MPP
  • 2018
    Margaret J. Hardy, JD
  • 1998
    Douglas C. Shaber, DO, FAODME (posthumously)