AACOM UME-GME Task Force Working Group

Graduate Level Osteopathic Training (OGME)


The Graduate Level Osteopathic Training Working Group of the UME-GME Task Force (also known as OGME) is charged with assessing the future of Osteopathic Recognition (OR) and ‘osteopathic’ GME, and osteopathic competency at the graduate level. The group will also recommend a course of action to increase interest in osteopathic GME, address the influence of role models in osteopathic GME and describe the role of COMs and AACOM in supporting such an effort.

OGME Working Group members

Action Group

GME Growth Action Group

Oversight of the this Action Group is shared with the Strengthening Future Model of Osteopathic Education Working Group.

This Action Group recommends ways for AACOM to:

  1. Advance GME growth in community-based, medically underserved settings by:
    • Identifying funding, regulatory, accreditation or other challenges that limit or prohibit GME growth in community-based, medically underserved settings, and
    • Determining existing or innovative solutions that could create an environment supportive of GME growth in community-based, medically underserved settings.
  2. Address potential concerns for formerly AOA-accredited programs that transitioned to ACGME to maintain ACGME continued accreditation, particularly for programs in surgical subspecialties.

See the latest deliverable below:

Additional Deliverables



  • A Guide to Residency Programs Affiliated with Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
    This living document provides a list of GME programs that are affiliated with a COM. This list of programs across many specialties can help students in their residency selection process. Please contact gme-initiatives@aacom.org for more information.  


Member Rosters

OGME Working Group Members

Richard Terry, DO, MBA,
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs & Chief Academic Officer
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine at Elmira

Richard Alweis MD,
DIO & Associate CMO for Medical Education
Rochester Regional Health

Luis Banuelos, OMS III
Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Dennis Blankenship, DO, Dean
Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Kathleen DiCaprio, OMS IV
Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine – New York

Terri Donlin, MBA, President & CEO
Osteopathic Heritage Foundation

Robyn Dreibelbis, DO, Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine

Michael Finley, DO, Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Kansas Health Science Center – Kansas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Anthony Furlano, DO, Director of Osteopathic Education
Mayo Clinic Family Medicine Residency – Eau Claire 

Alexander Hall, DO, PGY1
Ascension Macomb-Oakland Hospital Family Medicine

Kshma Kulkarni, DO, International Family Medicine Fellow
Ascension Via Christi International Family Medicine

Richard Labaere, DO, Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine, Kirksville 

Kundan Malik, OMS IV
Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine - California

Michael Naddaf, OMSIV
Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Sajid Surve, DO, Assistant Dean for Osteopathic Recognition and Director of Osteopathic Education
UNTHSC Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Kaitlyn Thomas, DO, PGY1
Guthrie Robert Packer Hospital

Dimitri Tito, DO, Attending Physician
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Elizabeth Zmuda, DO, Director of Medical Education
OhioHealth Doctors Hospital

GME Growth Action Group Members

Ward Stevens, DHSc, CEO, VCOM Affiliated Academic Practices
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine

Megan Brooks, DO, PGY1, ONMM
Michican State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Jane Carreiro, DO, Vice President of Health Affairs and Dean
University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine

Andrea DeSimone, DO, Psyciatrist
Bayhealth Kent General Hospital

John Dougherty, DO,Founding Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Noorda College of Osteopathic Medicine

Robin King-Thiele, DO, Associate Dean for Postgraduate Affairs, CUSOM and DIO for Campbell University GME
Campbell School of Osteopathic Medicine

Randall Longenecker, MD, Assistant Dean Emeritus Rural and Underserved Programs
Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Russell Maier, MD, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences

Lydia Raughley, MS, CTAGME, GME Instructional Coordinator
Bayhealth Medical Center

Lori Rodefeld, MS, Medical Education Manager
SSM Health Monroe Hospital

Meaghan Ruddy, PhD, Senior Vice President of Academic Affiars, Enterprise Assessment and Advancement, Chief Research and Development Officer
The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Educaton

Herchran Singh, DO, PGY1
Central Michigan University

Linda Thomas-Hemak, MD, President and CEO
The Wright Center for Graduate Medical Education