Robert A. Kistner Award

The Robert A. Kistner Award is given annually to those deserving individuals in recognition of their significant contributions to osteopathic medical education. The award is given to practicing or retired osteopathic physicians/educators and will be based on outstanding achievement by an individual, especially as it relates to the quality and improvement of the continuum of osteopathic medical education. The award is given out on behalf of the AACOM Board of Deans. 

About Robert A. Kistner, DO

Robert Kistner at a podium

Robert A. Kistner, DO, served as dean of the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine for 20 years. He had a family medical practice in the south suburbs of Chicago.

At the state level, he served on the Board of Directors of the Illinois Regional Programs; the task force on medical education; and the Council on Continuing Education for the State of Illinois. At the federal level, Dr. Kistner served as a representative to the White House Conference on Health; a consultant to the Health Professions Educational Program; and a member of the Graduate Medical Educational National Advisory Committee of the HRA. He served in the United States Navy in World War II.

Award Recipients

2023 - Silvia M. Ferretti, DO

2022 - Margaret Wilson, DO

2021 - Boyd R. Buser, DO

2020 - William G. Anderson, DO

2019 - Dixie J. Tooke-Rawlins, DO

2018 - D. Keith Watson, DO

2017 - Barbara Ross-Lee, DO

2016 - Mitchell D. Forman, DO

2015 - Karen J. Nichols, DO, MA, MACOI, CS

2014 - Clinton E. Adams, DO, MPA and Anthony Silvagni, DO, PharmD

2013 - Matthew Schure, PhD

2012 - John M. Ferretti, DO

2011 - Philip C. Slocum

2010 - Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH

2009 - Marc B. Hahn, DO

2008 - Gary L. Slick, DO 

2006 - Ronald R. Blanck, DO

2005 - Jordan J. Cohen, MD

2004 - Paul Peter Koro, DO (posthumously)

2002- Benjamin L. Cohen, DO

2001 - Ward E. Perrin, DO

2000 - Eileen DiGiovanna, DO