AACOM Programs

Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Scholarships

Each year AACOM awards a financial scholarship to at least two osteopathic medical students, of which at least one is a newly accepted student and one a continuing student. This scholarship is named after former AACOM Executive Director Sherry R. Arnstein. 
Arnstein Minority Scholarship Information 

AACOMAS® Application Fee Waivers

AACOM encourages financially disadvantaged applicants to become DOs. A limited number of fee waivers are available to those who apply early and qualify. Fee waiver requests must be received and processed prior to submitting an AACOMAS application. Application Fee Waiver Information

2019 Financial Aid Debt Management Modules

College and Other Aid Programs

COM Financial Aid

Following are links to the Financial Aid pages for each of the colleges of osteopathic medicine.  If you have financial aid questions, please seek out the appropriate resources and representative at the colleges: COM Financial Aid Web Sites  

Dr. Rose M. Green Thomas Academic Medicine Scholarship Award

This $1,000 tuition assistance scholarship is awarded annually to a qualified minority female medical student who pledges a medical career in academic medicine.  Read more.

Northwest Osteopathic Medical Foundation

The Northwest Osteopathic Medical Foundation has been awarding tuition assistance scholarships since 1986. Over $1.5 million dollars have been awarded to osteopathic medical students from the states of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Visit the NWOsteo website.

William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship

The American Osteopathic Foundation's William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship recognizes an outstanding minority osteopathic medical student who is committed to osteopathic principals and practice, has excelled academically, and has proven to be a leader in addressing the educational, societal, and health needs of minorities. Read more.

Federal Programs

Be aware that many private scholarships have a "financial need" requirement. This will usually require that you file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) with the government so that your need can be determined.

Federal Financial Aid Programs

If you would like to apply for Federal Financial Aid Programs, visit the FAFSA website. For more information about Federal Financial Aid, please contact the osteopathic medical school that you are planning to attend, or click the "Student Guide" link at the bottom of the FAFSA on the Web.

For additional resources on navigating the FASFA and federal student aid visit the Ultimate FAFSA Resource Guide from SmartScholar. 

Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) announced it will begin accepting applications by mail on Monday, November 3, 2014, for the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship under newly expanded eligibility criteria. In addition to children, eligibility now includes surviving spouses of an active duty member of the armed services killed in the line of duty on or after September 11, 2001.

Fry Scholarship funds may be applied to in-state tuition costs starting January 1, 2015, at any public graduate or professional school in the state in which the student has established their residency. Awardees are required to relinquish any other education benefits provided under the GI bill to be issued Fry scholarship funds.

The expanded criteria for the Fry Scholarship initially established as part of the 9/11 GI Bill, is the latest in a series of VA actions to implement provisions of the Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act of 2014. Learn more or apply online

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) offers scholarship, loan and loan repayment programs for health professions students, including scholarships for disadvantaged students and loans for disadvantaged students.

For several of the programs, the funds are awarded to the schools and the student can apply through the school’s financial aid office.  View a complete list of HRSA programs.

Indian Health Service (IHS)

The Indian Health Service (IHS), an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives who belong to 564 federally recognized tribes in 35 states.  American Indian and Alaska Native students enrolled in health professions and allied health professions programs may be eligible to apply for the IHS Health Professions Scholarship Program or Loan Repayment Program.  Learn more about the Indian Health Service and their Loan Repayment Program

National Health Service Corps

The National Health Service Corps (NHSC), administered by HRSA, was established to provide high-quality care to underserved populations, such as rural states and inner-city communities.  More than 3,800 physicians and other NHSC health care clinicians provide primary care services to approximately four million individuals in designated health professional shortage areas across the nation.  Osteopathic medical students and licensed osteopathic physicians may be eligible to apply to the NHSC Scholarship Program or Loan Repayment Program, respectively.  Learn more about the NHSC programs.  

White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities

In recent years, a nationwide emphasis on the importance of diversity (particularly on college campuses) has generated many scholarships and grants for students who belong to underrepresented minority groups. This comprehensive scholarship list includes financial aid opportunities exclusively reserved for African-Americans and women, as well as more generalized awards that are made available to applicants belonging to any underrepresented demographic. See Scholarship Opportunities for Minority Students.