Wiliam D. Miller Award

The William D. Miller Award is given annually to those deserving individuals for their outstanding contributions that demonstrably advance the osteopathic profession. The award can be given to anyoneDO or non-DOand will be based on outstanding achievement by an individual, no matter their own profession, provided their accomplishments are directly linked to the betterment and elevation of the osteopathic profession. The award is given out on behalf of the AACOM Board of Deans.

About William D. Miller, DO

Portrait of William Miller, DO

William D. Miller, DO, graduated from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) in 1945. Dr. Miller was an associate dean for academic affairs at the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) and was chairman of the council of deans of AACOM.

He maintained a private practice in New York City and served as director of medical education of the Osteopathic Hospital and Clinic of New York. He was president of the New York Academy of Osteopathy and later president of the Foundation for Research of the Academy. He helped to found NYITCOM and served as assistant dean for clinical resources and associate dean for clinical education.


Award Recipients

2023 - Murray Goldstin, DO, MPH

2022 - Van Hipp, Jr.

2021 - Peter (Pete) Wertheim, MS, DHL  (posthumously)

2020 - Jon Wills

2019 - Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP

2018 - Fitzhugh Mullan, MD

2017 - Not presented

2016 - John G. Rocovich, Jr.

2015 - Konrad C. Miskowicz-Retz, PhD, CAE

2014 - Henry B. Pace, PhD

2013 - John B. Crosby, JD 

2011 Stephen R. Winn

2010 - Hershey S. Bell, MD, MS

2009 - Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN

2006 - Senator Charles Grassley 

2005 - Richard Cooper, MD 

2004 - Stuart D. Cook, MD 

2001 - David Satcher, MD, MPH and Frederick Lippman, BSc, RPh

2000 - Governor Paul Patton

1999 - C. Everett Koop, MD