Announcing the Winners of the 2019 Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship

Published July 22, 2019


AACOM is committed to fostering excellence and promoting diversity in osteopathic medical education (OME). One of the ways that AACOM fulfills this mission it to award the annual Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship to deserving students. Arnstein awardees are selected after evaluating their applications and personal essays on their experiences, contributions to diversity in OME, and ideas about innovative ways to increase student diversity in osteopathic medical school. From those applicants, five outstanding osteopathic medical students have been selected to receive scholarships:

  • Andrew Villasenor, Lincoln Memorial University—DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, 3rd year
  • Darian Harris, William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2nd year
  • Najaha Musse, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine—Virginia, 2nd year
  • Renee Crawford, A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona, 3rd year
  • Kevin Wortman, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine—Auburn, Incoming

The 2020 Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship application cycle will open in January 2020. Visit AACOM’s Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship web page for eligibility information, application deadlines, and more.