AACOM Hails Selection of Erika Linden, CHC, as Primary Negotiator for Department of Education’s Program Integrity and Institutional Quality Committee

Published January 16, 2024

News Press Release

Ms. Linden will represent private nonprofit institutions of higher education during negotiated rulemaking sessions


(Bethesda, MD) – Today, the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) applauds the appointment of its nominee Erika Linden, CHC, to the U.S. Department of Education’s negotiated rulemaking committee on Program Integrity and Institutional Quality. Negotiators on this newly formed committee will prepare proposed regulations that address issues falling under the Higher Education Act, including state authorization and distance education, among other topics.

“AACOM congratulates Ms. Linden on her selection for this important committee,” said AACOM President and CEO Robert A. Cain, DO. “Current state authorization and distance education regulations cause undue financial and administrative burdens on osteopathic medical schools and students, many of whom complete their clinical rotations out-of-state. Ms. Linden’s work to obtain and protect reciprocity agreements in Iowa and to educate other institutions about their importance demonstrates her leadership and deep knowledge on this critical issue. She will be an important voice for osteopathic medical schools and students on this vital committee.”

Ms. Linden will serve as primary negotiator representing private nonprofit institutions of higher education. She is the chief compliance officer and Title IX coordinator at Des Moines University (DMU) in West Des Moines, Iowa. Since May 2012, Ms. Linden has been responsible for developing, implementing and assessing DMU’s compliance program to assure it abides by the relevant rules and regulations that govern higher education, state authorization and medical school accreditation.

“I am honored to serve as a negotiator and am learning this work is much more challenging than preparing or submitting public comments on proposed rules published in the Federal Register,” said Ms. Linden. “I appreciate the support from AACOM and their government relations team and look forward to engaging with other colleges of osteopathic medicine as these negotiations move forward.”

Ms. Linden’s expertise has proven invaluable to DMU’s health science programs, which rely heavily on distance education. Prior to DMU’s reciprocity agreement, which exempts DMU from having to meet other states’ authorization requirements, Ms. Linden achieved approval or exemptions in 25 states educating DMU students online or providing out-of-state clinical rotations. Under Ms. Linden’s guidance, DMU became the first Iowa school to obtain National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement membership in 2015. Since then, she’s informed other higher education institutions in Iowa about authorization requirements and the importance of reciprocity and has advocated to protect the state’s reciprocity agreements.

The committee’s first session was held January 8-11, 2024. The committee will reconvene in February and March.

About AACOM:

Founded in 1898, the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) is the leading voice for the education and training of physicians who practice osteopathic medicine in settings across the medical spectrum—from primary care to the full range of medical specialties. We support our member colleges of osteopathic medicine in their efforts to attract and train individuals who are fueled by a desire to make a difference in our healthcare system by treating the whole person and building a future emphasizing health and wellness for all people. Today, more than 35,000 future physicians—25 percent of all U.S. medical students—are being educated at one of our 41 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine, encompassing 66 teaching locations in 35 states. To learn more about AACOM, please visit our website.


Joseph Shapiro
Director of Media Relations
(240) 938-0746

Christine DeCarlo
Senior Manager of Media and Public Affairs
(202) 603-1026