Jamboor Vishwanatha Recognized with Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring

Published November 18, 2019


Vishwanatha_Jamboor_11072019In a White House press release on October 15, President Donald J. Trump announced the winners of the Presidential Excellence Awards in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering. Among the winners was Jamboor R. Vishwanatha, PhD, Professor at the University of North Texas Health Center and member of AACOM’s Council on Diversity and Equity. This is the first time a PAESMEM award has been given to a member of an osteopathic medical school.

Dr. Jamboor Vishwanatha is a Special Assistant to the Provost for the Center for Diversity and International Programs, Professor of Molecular and Medical Genetics, Director of the Texas Center for Health Disparities, and Director of the Institute for Cancer Research at UNT Health Science Center. He also serves as Director of the Texas Center for Minority Health, Education, Research and Outreach (Texas Center for Health Disparities), a Center of Excellence funded by the National institutes of Health (NIH).

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM), established in 1995, represent the highest honors bestowed upon mentors who work to expand science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) talent. Fifteen winners are selected each year to receive the award and are chosen by a selection committee of outstanding scientists, mathematicians, education researchers, and educators. The final decision is made by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). Each awardee receives a certificate signed by the President and a trip to Washington, DC, to attend various events. The winners also receive a monetary award of $10,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF).