U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Appoints Timothy J. Kowalski, DO, to National Academic Affiliations Council

Published July 22, 2022

Advocacy Interprofessional Leadership Military Medicine Press Release


(Bethesda, MD) – The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) today congratulates its nominee, Timothy J. Kowalski, DO, on his appointment to serve on the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) National Academic Affiliations Council (NAAC). Dr. Kowalski is the vice provost for professional and public relations at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine – Carolinas Campus and was appointed by VA Secretary Denis Richard McDonough. The VA NAAC provides a forum for joint planning and coordination between the VA and the nation's health professions schools and universities. 

Dr. Kowalski joins AACOM nominee  Christopher J. Loyke, DO, dean and chief academic officer at the Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, as the second osteopathic physician currently serving on the council—the first time there has been more than one DO on the council at any one time. 

“Dr. Kowalski’s military leadership and celebrated academic and medical career will serve to advance the critical work being done by the VA NAAC,” says AACOM President and CEO Robert A. Cain, DO. “With Dr. Kowalski’s appointment and Dr. Loyke’s continued service, the VA NAAC will continue to benefit from the osteopathic voice and perspective on all matters guiding the VA health system’s relationship with the health professions education community.” 

Dr. Kowalski completed a rotating internship, psychiatry residency and child psychiatry fellowship at Tripler Army Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii while serving in active duty in the U.S. Army. During his ten years of active duty, Dr. Kowalski held military leadership positions, including Commander, 19th Medical Detachment Germersheim, West Germany, and Division Psychiatrist, 25th Infantry Division (Light), Schofield Barracks, HI. He completed his AACOM Osteopathic Health Policy Fellowship in June 2022. 

“I am honored to have been selected to serve on this important advisory council,” says Dr. Kowalski. “I look forward to working with Dr. Loyke and the rest of my VA NAAC colleagues to enhance and strengthen the partnership between the VA and health professions education and am grateful for the opportunity to bring my osteopathic experience and perspective to the role.” 

AACOM nominee Thomas A. Cavalieri, DO, dean and endowed chair for primary care research and professor of medicine at the Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine, and Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, past AACOM president and CEO, previously served on the VA NAAC. Dr. Kowalski’s three-year term begins on October 1, 2022. 

About AACOM 

The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) leads and advocates for the full continuum of osteopathic medical education to improve the health of the public. Founded in 1898 to support and assist the nation's osteopathic medical schools, AACOM represents all 38 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine—educating nearly 34,000 future physicians, 25 percent of all U.S. medical students—at 60 teaching locations in 34 U.S. states, as well as osteopathic graduate medical education professionals and trainees at U.S. medical centers, hospitals, clinics and health systems.


Joseph Shapiro 
AACOM Director of Media Relations 
(240) 938-0746 

Christine DeCarlo 
AACOM Senior Manager, Media and Public Affairs 
(202) 603-1026