COM Representatives Hold Key Seats on Influential Congressional Committees

Published March 10, 2023

By AACOM Government Relations

Advocacy Federal Policy OME Advocate

  • As the work of the 118th Congress gets underway and committee hearings begin, AACOM has identified COM Representatives and Senators who sit on committees of importance to the osteopathic medical education (OME) community.
  • These include the House Committees on Ways and Means, Energy and Commerce and Education and the Workforce, the Senate Committees on Finance and Health, Education, Labor and Pensions and both chambers’ Committees on Appropriations.
  • COM Representatives and Senators serve in leadership roles on many of these committees, including Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX), chair of the House Appropriations Committee; Patty Murray (D-WA), chair, and Susan Collins (R-ME), vice chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee; Ron Wyden (D-OR), chair of the Senate Finance Committee and Bill Cassidy (R-LA), ranking member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee.
  • For a detailed look at COM representation on these committees, view this graphic. If you’d like to know your COM’s congressional delegation, see AACOM’s COM Congressional Representation Map.