AACOM’s Excellence in Communications (EIC) Awards Program 
is designed to recognize the important role communications plays in advancing osteopathic medical education and the profession. It also seeks to inspire higher levels of performance among our members.

Each year, more than 100 entries are reviewed and award winners are chosen by an expert panel of judges—consisting of AACOM's Marketing and Communications team, AACOM senior staff members, and guest judges who specialize in all areas of communication—based on creativity and effectiveness in achieving the project's stated objective related to the mission of the submitting osteopathic medical school.

The 2019 submission cycle is now closed.

2019 Program Overview

This year's program is entirely digital. We have created an online application form that allows you to submit all your information and materials directly to AACOM, no mailing required (unless sending payment by check). Be sure to read the 2019 EIC Submission Guidelines before submitting your entries.

2019 EIC Submission Guidelines
Online Entry Form (one form per entry)
Purchase Submissions

All entries must include:

  • Completed entry form
  • Required samples of project being entered 
  • Paid submission fee
    (If paying by check, do not go to the store to purchase entry. Simply fill out desired number of submission forms and add the check number you are using for payment to the form where indicated)


Awardees will be notified in early April. The panel of judges will be composed of volunteers
submitted by applicants, as well as AACOM staff. Judging scorecards will not be made public.
Submissions will be adjudicated using a point system. Each submission with be assessed and
reviewed by the panel using the following point system based on 100-point scale (subject to

  • 50% or More in House: 5
  • Met Submission Requirements: 5
  • Marketing Objectives: 10
  • Planning/Target Audience: 10
  • Content, Messaging: 20
  • Content, Overall Deliverable: 30
  • Results: 20


Award winners will be individually notified in early April after judging takes place. All winners will be recognized at the Marketing and Communications Advisory Council (MAC) spring meeting. First-place winners will be recognized at the AACOM Awards Banquet Friday, April 12 at Educating Leaders 2019, the AACOM Annual Conference in Washington, DC. 


Carson Cameron
(301) 968-4174

Awards Banquet Program 

Learn more about AACOM's awards recipients in the programs below: